Universitè de Nantes



Street: 1 quai de Tourville BP 13522
Postcode: 44035
City: Nantes
Country: France
Phone: +33 (0)2 40 99 83 83
IRO Email

History and Objectives

Founded in 1970 under the 1968 law reforming higher education and replacing former Université de Nantes, founded in 1962, incorporating previously existing faculties, but tracing its history to the original Universities of Nantes, founded by Papal Bull in 1460, and of Angers, recognized and authorized by Charles V in 1364. University of Nantes is a state institution which enjoys academic and financial autonomy, and operates under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Education.

Governing Team

  • President
  • Administrative Council
  • Scientific Council
  • Students and University Council and International Relations Council


  • City Center Campus
  • Lombarderie Campus
  • Tertre campus
  • Chantrerie-Carquefou Campus
  • Campus of Saint-Nazaire
  • and Campus of la Roche-sur-Yon

International Programmes

Université de Nantes has around 400 partner universities throughout the world with which it collaborates to develop student mobility, joint programmes, teaching mobility and joint research programmes. It participates in the Erasmus Programme. Apart from the CGU, it is member of other international networks: IAU, Euraxes, EUA, ISEP, CREPUQ, etc.


The academic year begins in September and ends in May or June, depending on the program. The year is punctuated by vacations, including two weeks at the end of the year (Christmas and New Year’s). The two semesters are divided by a short break following final examinations at the end of the first semester.The summer vacation lasts more than two months and always includes the months of July and August.


  • Department of History, Art History and Achaeology
  • Department of Humanties and Languages
  • Department of Languages – International Language Centre (CIL)
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Science and Technology of Physical Activities and Sports (STAPS)


  • Institute of Geography and Regional Planning of Université de Nantes (IGARUN)
  • Institute of Economics and Management
  • Institute of Business Administration (IEMN-IAE)
  • Institute for Research and Education in French as a Foreigh Language (IRFFLE)
  • Institute of Teacher Training (IUFM)
  • Institute of Preparation for General Administration (IPAG)
  • University Institute of Technology (IUT) of Nantes
  • University Institute of Technology (IUT) of Saint-Nazaire
  • University Institute of Technology (IUT) of La Roche-sur-Yon


Life sciences, health and medical technology
  • Fundamental Biology
  • Bioengineering
  • Plant Biology
  • Marine Biology
  • Ecology
  • Medicine and Medical Technology
  • Pharmacy
  • Dentistry
Economics and Management
  • Economics and Economic Policy
  • Business Administration and Organizational Management
  • Logistics Engineering
  • International Logistics
  • Transportation
  • Industrial
  • Engineering and Maintenance
  • Accounting
  • Banking
  • Finance
  • Insurance Marketing
  • International Trade
Humanities and Social Sciences, Letters, Languages and Art
  • Psychology
  • Cognition
  • Education
  • History
  • Art History
  • Archaeology
  • History of Law
  • History of Science and Technology
  • Physical and Human geography
  • Urban Development
  • Sociology
  • Classical and Modern Letters
  • Philosophy
  • Information
  • Communication
  • Multimedia
  • Publishing
  • Documentary Resources
  • Language
  • Applied Foreign Languages
  • Languages and Civilizations
  • French as a Foreign
Exact Sciences, Engineering and Technology
  • Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Computer Engineering and Software Engineering
  • Fundamental and Applied Mathematics
  • Materials
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Thermal Engineering
  • Energy Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Nuclear Physics
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Photonics
  • Earth Sciences
  • Planetary Sciences
  • Geosciences
Legal and Political Science
  • Private Law
  • Public Law
  • Business Law
  • Real Estate
  • Law
  • Criminal Science
  • State and Local Government
  • Law and Intellectual Property Law
  • Labour Law and Human Resources Management
  • Political Science
  • International and Community Law
Interdisciplinary Programs
  • Law-Applied Foreign Languages
  • Culture
  • Territories
  • Networks
  • Sport
  • Health
  • Society
  • Health
  • Social Work
  • Health Management
  • Food Industry
  • Nutrition
  • Marine and Coastal Sciences
  • Sustainable Development and Environment