University of Seville



Street: San Fernando, 4
PC.: 41004
City: Sevilla
Telephone: +34 954 551 005
IRO Email

History and objectives

Founded in 1505, the University of Seville (US) is the second largest in Spain in terms of students (over 70.000), and the first in Andalusia. At the center of gravity of the city’s social and cultural life, the university owns an extensive historic-artistic collection amounting to thousands of pieces. It is on a par with some of Spain’s major museums.

The US is well known for its vital research in Technology and Science, which not only aids to the development of science as a whole but also enriches and develops the culture of Seville and Andalusia. The US is positioned among the most renowned universities in the world, according to the most relevant international rankings.

The US takes pride in its self-government and independence but, above all, in its ability to provide a public service at such high standard due to his excellence in teaching and research.

Being a comprehensive university, the US has one of the widest academic offers at Spain, both at the undergraduate and graduate level, with 27 faculties and schools. The US academic offer covers all areas of knowledge, from Arts and Humanities to Technology, Social Sciences and Health.

Committed with regional economic and social development, the US is firmly engaged to research. With more than 500 research groups, it ranks among the Top 10 Spanish research universities. It is the first university in Andalusia in getting fund from the European Commission framework programmes.


  • Public

Governing team

University Ombudsman, University Senate, Governing Council, Academic Inspection Service and Social Council.


  • Reina Mercedes Campus
  • Ramón y Cajal Campus
  • Macarena Campus
  • Cartuja Campus
  • Nuestra Señora del Buen Aire Campus

International programmes

Within the frame of the Erasmus Programme: EP Study, EP Work Placement, EP University Administration Staff and EP Teachers. Other international mobility programmes for non-Erasmus countries.

Academic calendar

Degrees: 1st semester (September-January) and 2nd semester (February-June).
Master degrees: 1st semester (October-January) and 2nd semester (February-June).

Departments and degrees

  • 133 departments.
  • 67 undergraduate degrees.
  • 88 official master degrees.
  • 32 doctoral programs
  • 200 continuing education programs.

Read here detailed information about the University of Seville programs.