University of Guadalajara





Address: Av. Juárez No. 976, Colonia Centro, Postcode 44100, Guadalajara, Jalisco
Country: Mexico.
Phone: +52 (33) 3134 2222
IRO email

History and objectives

The University of Guadalajara was created in 1792. It is a public decentralized body of the State of Jalisco Government, which enjoys autonomy, judicial personality and personal property.

It is a meritorious, public, secular and autonomous institution, with social commitment and international vocation; that satisfies the educational needs of high school and university level with quality and relevance. It promotes scientific and technological research, as well as the linkage and extension to influence the sustainable and inclusive development of society. It is respectful of cultural diversity, honours humanist principles, equity, social justice, democratic coexistence and collective prosperity.

Governing bodies

The governing bodies of the University of Guadalajara (UdG) are the Honorable General University Council, the General Rector’s Office, the Council of Rectors, the Executive Vice-Rector’s Office and the General Secretariat.

The Honorable General University Council is the UdG’s highest governing body.

The General Rector is the highest executive authority and legal representative of the UdG, as well as the President of the General University Council and the Rector’s Council.

The Rector’s Council is a planning and coordinating body for the university centres and systems of the network. Its functions are technical and of a consultative nature and are regulated by the Internal Regulations of the Council of Rectors.

The Executive Vice-Rector’s Office is the auxiliary administrative body of the General Rector’s Office in the tasks of coordination, execution, supervision, support, monitoring and evaluation of general policies and those that arise from the Institutional Development Plan.

The General Secretariat is the auxiliary administrative body of the General Rector’s Office, responsible for certifying acts and facts, under the terms of the Organic Law.


The University of Guadalajara has a network that includes six thematic metropolitan university centres and nine regional university centres in the State of Jalisco.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar is divided into two periods. The first runs from August to December and the second from January to June.

Academic departments

The academic areas of the University of Guadalajara are:

  • Arts, Architecture, Design.
  • Biological and Agricultural Sciences.
  • Health Sciences.
  • Economic and Administrative Sciences.
  • Exact Sciences and Engineering.
  • Social Sciences and Humanities.

Academic programmes

The academic offer of the University of Guadalajara includes 76 graduate and 133 postgraduate programmes (specialisation courses, master and PhD).

International programmes

The University of Guadalajara is involved in more than 50 international networks and associations. By means of the agreements established with them, students from the UdG can carry out academic stays to follow courses, participate in research projects or undertake professional internships in partner institutions. Likewise, students from partner universities can benefit from mobility exchanges at the UdG.

Discover here more information on its international programmes.