The European Commission unveiled yesterday the list of the 24 new alliances of European Universities Initiative, selected from 62 applications submitted to the second call of this initiative, and in which eight higher education institutions associated to the Compostela Group of Universities are participating.

The European Universities Initiative network continues to grow with the addition yesterday of 24 new transnational alliances of higher education institutions from the European Union, in which eight CGU member universities are taking part. These new alliances, which join the first 17 approved last year, involve 165 higher education institutions from 26 Member States and other countries included in the Erasmus+ programme.

The eight member universities of the network are Salamanca, Technical of Madrid, Basque Country, Leon, Technical of Cartagena, Seville and Nantes. Two of these universities participated in October 2019 in the International Meeting of Rectors on the Camino, which devoted its opening to this initiative, with a presentation by the head the Higher Education Unit of the European Commission, Vanessa Debiais-Sainton. Afterwards, the member universities selected in the first call for European Universities shared their experience in a round table and after this, the attendees had the opportunity to share their knowledge in working groups.

European Universities Initiative

The European Universities Initiative was approved in December 2017 by the European Commission, which called for the creation of at least 20 universities by 2024. Following this approval, the European Commission began the development of the initiative, in collaboration with the member states, higher education institutions and student organizations.

Within the framework of this initiative, each university alliance receives up to five million euros from the Erasmus+ programme and up to two million euros from the Horizon 2020 programme over three years, so that they can start implementing their plans.

Through these projects, the Commission hopes to intensify cooperation between these institutions, their students and staff, as they will share physical and online resources, teaching, knowledge, information and infrastructure.